Clara Schumann : 3 Romances, Op.22

Live Performance at The House Concert, 6th of September 2019

Eric Seohyun Moon, Viola

Sejun Lee, Piano

  1. Andante molto

  2. Allegretto

  3. Leidenschaftlich schnell

About 3 Romances by Clara Schumann

The Three Romances for Violin and Piano, Op. 22 of Clara Schumann, were written in 1853 and first published in 1855.

Having moved to Düsseldorf in 1853, Clara Schumann, who said that “Women are not born to compose,” produced several works, including these three romances. Dedicated to the legendary violinist Joseph Joachim, Schumann and Joachim went on tour with them, even playing them before King George V of Hanover, who was “completely ecstatic” upon hearing them. A critic for the Neue Berliner Musikzeitung praised them, declaring: “All three pieces display an individual character conceived in a truly sincere manner and written in a delicate and fragrant hand.” Stephen Pettitt for The Times, wrote, “Lush and poignant, they make one regret that Clara’s career as a composer became subordinate to her husband’s.”